Representative Offices Overseas

Representative Offices Overseas

ifrat.icon.2 IFRAT Overseas

IFRAT is a growing global project. The spectrum of IFRAT’s action will widen considerably over the first years, requiring an increasing coordination of its educational and research activities in the addiction field and associated fields. New Affiliates, Inceptors and Therapists, including psychologists and experts from all over the world can contribute to expand our network and achieve our mission, by joining IFRAT or creating a new IFRAT Representative Office Overseas.



» Our International Divisions

To organise our action across the continents, we have divided the world into fifteen regions, which provides a clear division of the world’s countries:

  • Western Europe: UK, Ireland, France, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Faeroe Islands, Iceland, Greenland (Den.), Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Liechtenstein, Italy, Vatican, San Marin, Monaco, Greece, Cyprus, Malta, Andorra, Spain, Portugal, Gibraltar.
  • Eastern Europe: Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia, Serbia, Albania, Republic of Macedonia, Bulgaria, Romania, Moldova, Ukraine, Turkey;
  • Eurasia: Russia, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Iran, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan;
  • East Asia: Mongolia, China, Hong Kong, Macau, Japan, South Korea, North Korea;
  • South Asia: India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Singapore, Brunei, Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia, East Timor Maldives;
  • Oceania: Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Salomon Islands, Vanuatu, Federate States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu;
  • North America: United States, Canada;
  • Central America: Mexico, Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Cuba, The Bahamas, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago;
  • South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela;
  • Middle East: Egypt, Israel, Lebanon, Jordan, Syria, Iraq, Yemen;
  • Gulf: Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates and Oman;
  • Northern and Sub-Saharan Africa: Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Mauritania, Mali, Niger, Chad, Sudan
  • West Africa: Senegal, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone, Cape Verde, Liberia, Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, Benin, Togo, Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Congo, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo;
  • East Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, South Sudan, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania, Malawi, Zambia, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Mauritius, Comoros, Seychelles;
  • Southern Africa: Namibia, Botswana, South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland;

Our fifteen International Divisions are the umbrella organisations of the National Representative Offices accredited by IFRAT in each world region. They promote our action and raise the profile of Recovered Addiction Therapists in their world region. They also ensure International liaison between our Headquarters and National Representative Offices that compose their world region, without encroaching on the rights of each National Representative Office established in their region.

» Our Representative Offices Overseas

Each National Representative Office represents IFRAT in its local community. Acting under our banner, it is accredited by the Quality Control and Accreditation Department to bring our Education and Training Programmes at local level and give the opportunity to locals to benefit from our services.

Who can apply for IFRAT Accreditation? Any addiction treatment and recovery centre, rehab centre, residential clinic, or research centre specialised in the addiction field and associated fields can apply to join the IFRAT network.

If your organisation meets our QIAP prerequisites and once it has been accredited by our Quality Control and Accreditation Department, your organisation will become a National Representative Office taking part in our action and delivering our activities in your local community.

» Our Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is a group of fifteen representatives assigned to focus on a particular task(s) or area(s) of IFRAT. Our Advisory Committee usually meets up every year during the Advisory Committee Meeting (ACM) to make recommendations for decisions and add advisory resolutions to the agenda of the Board Meeting (BM).

Ifrat Advisory Commitee


The elected Presidents of National Representative Offices are eligible to become members of the Advisory Committee. Its formation described above offers an equal and democratic Representation of each world region. The fifteen Presidents (also called the Representatives) can bring their ideas or report the issues they face with in their world regions to the Board.